The River Ouse before the construction of Lendal Bridge (1853)

  • This picture shows the River Ouse before the construction of Lendal Bridge. Discussions around the need for a bridge began in 1838 and finally agreed to the construction of Lendal Bridge in 1857 which was opened in 1863; following a dispute over who would fund the construction of the bridge: the corporation or the railway companies. The ferry had operated on the Ouse since the medieval period crossing the river between st Leonards landing and North Street Postern. The construction of the Railway station saw increasing traffic and as such there was an immediate need for a more suitable crossing.
  • This item is housed in York Explore’s archive. The photograph comes from  their “Imagine York” digital collection – Imagine York – historic photographs
    Shelf Number Y71_32 
Access status
York Explore ref. Y71_32
  • Decade